Spotify Adds Support For 12 Indian Languages Including Hindi, Gujarati, Marathi, Tamil & More

Latest News Tech News Technology

Music streaming giant Spotify has announced that it is rolling out 36 new languages for the mobile app. This comes after Spotify’s announcement during its “Stream On” event last month, where the company said said it will launch in over 80 new markets, and will introduce 36 new languages. With the addition of 36 new languages, the total number of supported languages on Spotify is now 62 languages. The new update also brings several Indian languages to Spotify, including Bengali, Bhojpuri, Hindi, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu.

The new languages are already available on the web platform of Spotify, and have now started rolling out for the mobile app as well. The new languages that are coming to the platform are Afrikaans, Amharic, Azerbaijani, Bengali, Bhojpuri, Bulgarian, Simplified Chinese, Croatian, Danish, Estonian, Filipino, Gujarati, Hindi, Icelandic, Kannada, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Norwegian, Odia, Persian, Portuguese for Portugal, Eastern Punjabi, Western Punjabi, Romanian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swahili, Tamil, Telugu, Ukrainian, Urdu, and Zulu. This will make Spotify more accessible for speakers of these additional languages across the world.

“These market and language expansions allow us to engage with more listeners, in more places, in more languages. By reaching more people, we are giving millions of new creators the opportunity to build a career, while connecting existing creators with new audiences,” Spotify said in a blog post.

The Swedish music streaming company, during its Stream On event last month, had said that it will expand to 85 new markets soon. Spotify currently has more than 345 million monthly active users and over 155 million paid subscribers globally.

Source link

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments